National Handwriting Day

…was Wednesday. I thought it was interesting enough to post about, even if I am late. It’s sponsored by the Writing Instrument Manufacturers Association to celebrate the beauty and power of handwriting every Jan. 23, on John Hancock’s birthday. According to their website, “Handwriting allows us to be artists and individuals during a time when we often use computers, faxes and e-mail to communicate. Fonts are the same no matter what computer you use or how you use it. Fonts lack a personal touch. Handwriting can add intimacy to a letter and reveal details about the writer’s personality. Throughout history, handwritten documents have sparked love affairs, started wars, established peace, freed slaves, created movements and declared independence.”

GalleyCat has a nice post about this, linking to Moleskine’s promotion wherein people were asked to hand-write a status, then upload it to a gallery.

I think it’s a wonderful thing to promote and celebrate handwriting. Most kids in school now don’t get any instruction in penmanship – and it shows! When my students turn in hand-written assignments, some of them are truly illegible. Writing is an art – you must literally draw each letter – but an art that is relatively easy to learn. I love writing so much, I can draw several styles of lettering (including a few basic calligraphy fonts) freehand. It’s what I did as a freshman in high school, drawing band names on my classmates with pens and charging $5-$10.To this day, I keep several journals that I hand-write in. I’ve written before about the importance of handwriting, and how the physical act of writing often changes the way the writer writes. What are your thoughts on writing?

Leave a Reply

