The Writing Season is Upon Me

Dear Readers,

As some of you may know, in addition to teaching community college students and reviewing terrible books, I also write. For the past two years I’ve been working on a memoir of my childhood, growing up poor in the Ozarks, up to getting pregnant and literally imprisoned by a meth addict when I was 17. I finished the first draft of my manuscript this summer, and with Gabrielle Idlet’s wonderful suggestions, I’ve been working on revisions since then.

Tomorrow is the absolute last day of finals, and I’m almost done grading papers. That means I’m going to have four weeks off! I’ve blocked off most of those days as writing days, with the goal of finishing my revisions before mid-January. I’ll send it back to Gabrielle for one last pass, work on those revisions, and then start looking for an agent!

I’m excited that I’m almost done with this project, which will have taken three years to complete. However, I’m also itching to get started on something new; a couple of ideas have bubbled to the surface, so I just have to choose which one I want to spend the next year or two with. One idea (I don’t want to give it away) came to me one morning almost fully formed; I swear if I could spend two weeks alone in a cabin somewhere I could finish the first draft.

Here’s to spending some good, quality writing time!

Leave a Reply

